Reading Rainbow Ninja 

In all my professional life, nothing has given me more joy than the moment I had yesterday; reading a book aloud to a room of 4 and 5 year olds. 

I had no idea the hidden magic behind the story-reading process. It’s one thing to read to Lily but to an entire class of eyeballs and half open mouths, it brought me a feeling I’ve literally never had before. 

And speaking of being present in the moment, I felt SO present. It was as if time slowed down and any nerves I had settled.

I think there should be like reading aloud therapy for when people could use a pick me up. Like how we have pet therapy and laughter therapy; now reading therapy.
Of course, you’ve got to have a great book in your hands too. In this case, it was Ninja Red Riding Hood by Corey Rosen Schwartz. Not having read it before and having no idea what was going to go down gave me the chance to be open and innocent along with them. 

SPOILER: The Big Bad Wolf gets the lesson of a lifetime and finds inner peace. I’m not kidding. It’s hilarious. 

Namaste’. 

And name me some more great children’s books I need to wrap my hands around. 

2 thoughts on “Reading Rainbow Ninja 

Leave a Reply

